RSS

You’re not alone

08 Apr

Please take a moment and read this if you suffer from a mental illness.

I have posted before about my illness but I’m sure it doesn’t hurt to post again. Maybe somebody will read this and know that they aren’t alone. I’ve suffered with Clinical depression for at least 8 years. I went untreated for most of this time because I was too afraid to speak out. I told myself they were all bad days and I’d eventually get through it. But, they got worse, especially after my hysterectomy in 2010. Luckily, I had gone to my doctor in 2009 because I couldn’t do it on my own anymore. I’ve tried several medications; Lexapro, Wellbutrin, and now I’m on Zoloft and it works! So all I can say is don’t give up! There is a medication out there for you and the trial periods are not fun but they are worth it in the end. I suffer from migraines also whether it’s part of the illness, I’m not sure but I’ve tried a few medications for that also; Imatrex and now I’m on Topamax. So, my point to this post is to seek help PLEASE! FInd a good therapist and they can prescribe something for you or go to your doctor but go to somebody!

Something else that helps me get through my down times are: a nap, write in my journal, write/type in my blog, a walk, and driving in my car. I had an episode yesterday but they don’t last as long because I know what works best for me. It happened at the worst time though. I was driving my family around running errands when it hit me. I started crying, the kids asked what’s wrong, everbody got quiet, and I told my husband I needed to go home. I couldn’t be out like this. I went home to my bed and calmed myself down to rest. I explained to my children and husband that when I have these episodes it’s not because of anything they did, it’s just something I deal with and I have to let it pass.

I hope this helps someone. Have a great Sunday evening or enjoy whatever day it is in your neck of the woods 🙂

Rachel

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2012 in Depression, Thoughts

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “You’re not alone

  1. Charissa

    April 8, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    I’m glad you found some things to help you when you feel down. I’ve known a few people with depression…and I feel for them and their daily struggles to feel happiness and light. It sounds so awful to feel that darkness and not know how to get out of the hole.

     
    • Rachel

      April 8, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      Thank you, it is a constant struggle so I want to help others get through it too 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
