RSS

Day-dreamer

18 Mar

She walks into the room and nobody notices.

She feels invisible.

She never raises her hand to ask a question,

for fear of rejection.

What if they laugh, or say she’s dumb?

So, she sits in the back of the room all alone.

She drifts into a dream where all she sees,

are butterflies, birds and green, shade trees.

She lays in the cool, damp grass on her back

and stares at the white, puffy clouds.

She rolls over to find in front of her face,

a new dandelion just waiting for her to blow and make a wish.

She closes her eyes tight and takes a deep breath,

then blows ever so slightly,

until the white seeds are set in motion.

Why can’t she stay in this dream forever?

The bell rings and awakens her from her slumber.

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in photography, poem, Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Day-dreamer

  1. thewritingaficionado

    March 18, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    I really enjoyed this. She reminds me of myself when I was younger. Keep up the good work!

     
    • Rachel

      March 18, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      Thank you! The sky is my limit now. I hate feeling trapped and afraid of rejection! I’m a young soul at heart trapped in an aging body thats halfway to forty! 🙂

       
      • thewritingaficionado

        March 18, 2012 at 7:32 pm

        You’re only as old as you feel 🙂 I’m glad you’re ready to write now!

         
      • Rachel

        March 18, 2012 at 10:08 pm

        Ha Ha. Isn’t that the truth! Well if I can stop my brain long enough to get some fresh air, I’ll live longer. Right now, all I can do is sit on this silly computer and let my thoughts spill out while my kids are asking, “Will you take us to the park?”

         
      • thewritingaficionado

        March 18, 2012 at 10:17 pm

        You should take them and write some more while you’re there! Nature always inspires me.

         
      • Rachel

        March 18, 2012 at 10:21 pm

        It inspires me too! In fact, one of my posts this week were from our day out at the park and the scenery was breathtaking!

         
      • thewritingaficionado

        March 18, 2012 at 10:24 pm

        Do you like taking photos?

         
      • Rachel

        March 18, 2012 at 10:30 pm

        I’m starting to enjoy taking photos. My camera though is my android cell phone. My husband has always been the one taking all the photos until we were at the park. We shared the picture taking experience. Why do you ask?

         
      • thewritingaficionado

        March 18, 2012 at 10:45 pm

        I think that the park is a great place to take pictures, and a lot of the time for me, my photos tend to inspire what I write about.

         
      • Rachel

        March 18, 2012 at 10:50 pm

        Wow, that’s a great idea. Am I the only one who can’t seem to sleep because the thoughts won’t stop? I just learned to shut them off and I stopped writing in my journal. Now it seems everything is so backed up and needs to come out!

         
  2. Rachel

    March 27, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Reblogged this on Wife with out a life and commented:

    From my blog,”Crocheting Cures Mental Illness!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
